Review – Topical Pain Relievers

Over the last 3 weeks of my knee disaster problem I’ve tried various pain and inflammation relief remedies.  Advil, oral Arnica, topical Arnica, ice, etc and I think I’ve *finally* found the right combination. Here’s what I’ve tried, topically:

Rub A535

I started using Rub A535 Dual Action as that’s what I had at home (and I like the weird sensation when it goes from cold to hot – I dunno, I’m not normal).  I don’t know that it actually did anything but I felt that it did, probably because it just felt like it was doing something, based on the weird tingling sensation.  The smell was really strong though.

The next topical I tried using was also made by Rub A535 but it contained Arnica.

“Arnica montana, known commonly as leopard’s banewolf’s banemountain tobacco and mountain arnica,[1] is a European flowering plant with large yellow capitula. Arnica has been used in herbal medicine and, according to double-blind studies, has demonstrated pain relieving attributes in osteoarthritis patients.”

(Wikipedia)

This one didn’t smell as strong but I really didn’t experience any difference at all in the pain in my knees.

Topical #3 was Traumeel, which had been recommended to me by numerous people.  I actually experienced a fair amount of pain reduction using the product, but I ran out of the free sample I had and it is really expensive to purchase. Which brings me to yesterday.

My doctor had recommended me using Voltaren Emulgel for joint pain in my hands (more on that next week when I get some blood results back) but I just never got around to using it.  After a painful night at work on Wednesday night, and a sale on Voltaren at the grocery store on Thursday I decided to bite the bullet and try it.  I applied it to my knees 3 times yesterday (instructions are 3-4 times a day as needed) and let me tell you, I woke up this morning and was able to walk without pain for the first time in about a week.  IT IS A FREAKING MIRACLE.

I’m not healed, this stuff isn’t a miracle worker and hasn’t magically fixed the damage in my knees.  However, the chance to walk without pain and to not limp is going to greatly improve my ability to heal.

Maybe running isn’t as far in the future as I had originally thought!

Leave a Reply

