I Just Want to SWIM

Today has been one fitness disaster after another.

Source

I had a swim on the agenda today, and after figuring out a nice, easy workout to get me started, I headed over to the pool.  If you recall from last time, I had issues with the lanes not being set up and the pool full of people not lane swimming.  But this time, I thought, I was prepared.  There was ONLY lane swim available at this time, no family swim, no leisure swim. So to the pool I went.

Apparently, lane swim only still means only one lane set up (with 2 people already swimming in it) and the rest of the pool full of people floating on pool noodles. So I left. And wrote a complaint to the recreation department of the city, also asking how I could better approach the situation.

I came home and decided that, after some lunch, I would head out for a run.  Immediately I heard a clap of thunder, and then another, and then the skies opened up.  So much for that idea.

In my grumpy state I basically wrote today off, fitness wise, and proceeded to have a nap while watching HGTV with Scout on the couch. When I woke up the sky was clearing and the sun was peaking through the clouds.  Ok, maybe today isn’t so bad after all.  I did some chores around the house, and now the sun is out, the air is the perfect run temperature, and I’m dressed and ready to go.  Oh I’m also going to a different community pool tonight, where they have more lanes, and I doubt many people will be just floating in the pool at 9 pm. Let’s hope so, anyway.

So my double workout day has (hopefully) been saved.  I could have just as easily stayed on the couch all day and wallowed in my own self pity (which I am wont to do from time to time) but gave myself a swift kick in the ass to motivate myself out the door. I know I’ll feel better, and as they say, you never regret a workout. (I always say you never regret a nap…or chocolate)

How do you motivate yourself when you don’t feel like working out?

(and yes I realize wont is  3rd person but I like it and I’m using it in this context)

7 thoughts on “I Just Want to SWIM

  1. I just sort of go out there, even when I don’t want to. I know that although the first few miles might suck, eventually I hit my rhythm and I’ve always been happy I went after it’s all said and done. Great post and be like Dory from Nemo… just keep swimming, just keep swimming.

  2. Hi, i’m a fellow sweat pink ambassador ;) Stopping by to say hi..but yah I have had some unmotivated days lately…but i know once i start I will feel better. seems to work..hardest part is getting started!

  3. Pingback: Easy Fitness – Swimming – A Whole Body Workout | Forty Plus Fitness

Leave a Reply

