Half Marathon Madness (Or, How I Took A Week Off and Survived)

For the record, I do not like being sick.

It has been a week since I have done any sort of physical activity other then turning NetFlix on to watch Lost (I did have to go to work but that was unavoidable).  This cold took me down hard, and instead of fighting it and pushing through it, I decided to give in to what my body was requesting – rest.

I took the self imposed week off and decided to finally come up with a half marathon training plan (don’t worry, it didn’t really take me a week to figure it all out).  The plan is a lot more complicated now, since it starts midway through July when I’ll still be training for my second triathlon.  

photo (57)

I plan on running 3 days a week, and using the track day of tri training with the triathlon club as one of these days.  I’m going to use a hybrid CrossFit Endurance plan – I believe I need the distances that long runs will provide, but don’t want to have crazy mileage each week, so my other midweek run will be one of the CFE workouts.  2 shorter, high intensity workouts and 1 LSD.  Experimenting is FUN.

I’m not 100% recovered from the Illness of 2012, but I’m well on my way, so tonight will be my first foray into tri training with the triathlon club.  Bike and run tonight, open water swim on Wednesday. It’s time to get back on the training wagon – August 12 will be here before I know it!

Do you workout when sick? How do you know it’s time to rest instead of pushing through?

2 thoughts on “Half Marathon Madness (Or, How I Took A Week Off and Survived)

Leave a Reply

