Bubba’s Story–Part 2

Today Bubba is making his journey to his forever home.022

I talked about the start of Bubba’s journey here, but never finished it.

Where I last left off, we had gone to visit Bubba at his adoptive home.  He was happy, loved his new mom, and loved his new brother. 

A week or so after that visit I got a message from his adoptive mom – she had been diagnosed with ovarian cancer, and would not be able to keep Bubba.

The whole situation was horrible – she didn’t want to give up her dog, but it was more important for her to deal with her health than to worry about caring for a young dog.

So again, we took him back.  And have had him ever since.291

Now…the sweet part to the story.

A woman in Colorado had been following his story ever since we pulled him from the shelter in New York last September.  She had fallen in love with him then, and when she found out he was available (again) for adoption, jumped at the chance to snatch him up.  My friend, who is on the rescue board, is going to drive him to Buffalo, where a doggy transport will pick him up and take him to Colorado.

It will be the perfect home for him.IMG_1224

But still I’m sad.

I’m going to miss his adorable little face, his soft dense fur, the annoying way he always had to touch you when you were walking through the house, him barking when he gets excited, and how he bounces when he tries to get another dog to play.

photo (69)

 

I know he’ll be happy.

But knowing that he waited for 20 minutes at the door for me after I left him today breaks my heart. I can’t explain to him what’s happening, he just thinks I left him behind again. And I hate knowing that he’ll be waiting for me to come back for him. I feel like I’ve abandoned him. I know I haven’t, but he doesn’t know that.

381167_663287097454_227302436_4620279_368203842_n

So I’m taking today to wallow in sadness and self pity, but tomorrow I will be happy that I saved his life, and got to know one of the neatest dogs I have ever met, and bring him to where he was meant to be.

IMG_1433

 

Maybe one day I’ll figure out why the story went the way it did. Until then, I’ll just be grateful to have known him.

 

photo (67)

7 thoughts on “Bubba’s Story–Part 2

  1. Awww what a cutie. I don’t know if I could ever foster b/c I’d want to keep all of them. 3 of my 4 have been rescues and I just don’t know how the foster moms let them go I know with the first one, she almost didn’t! Thank you for taking the time to do something so special.

  2. Thanks for sharing. Pets can be so like your friends…and I feel your pain. I’ve never fostered but…i can imagine how hard it must be. — Ericka @ The Sweet Life (sweetlifeericka.com)

  3. Aww! It sounds like his new home will give him lots of love — and maybe they need him to make them smile now. We adopted our Tiger Lilly in January and she certainly makes us laugh every day.

Leave a Reply

