Training Tuesday

No, I didn’t forget the “Tri” (and yes I’m still doing it – August 12!) but yesterday marked Day 1 of Week 1 of Half Marathon training.

photo (72)

My first #brilliantrun – more on that next week!

I’m hoping this time my knee will hold up and I won’t have any issues with runner’s knee or my IT band.  I plan on foam rolling A LOT.

photo (71)

My physical therapist. Look at that steely look he’s giving me. “Get to work!”

To keep my knee and cranky ITB happy, I’ve modified the CrossFit Endurance training plan to suit my own needs.  I will be doing 2 CFE workouts during the week (1 short intervals, 1 long intervals) and then will continue doing my long runs once a week.  This way my weekly mileage will stay lower, I will get a bit faster (I hope) but I’ll still get in the long runs I love and need.  My longest run will also only be 17km (although I think I have it twice on my training schedule), which is also the longest run I got in when I was training over the winter.

This week’s schedule:

Monday
CrossFit
CFE: 10 rounds, 1 minute on, 1 minute off (did 2.3km in 20 min)

Tuesday
CrossFit or OFF

Wednesday
Open Water Swim
CFE: 5 min on, 2:30 off, 6 min on, 3 off, 7 minutes on

Thursday
Lane Swim
CrossFit

Friday
4km LSD
CrossFit

It’s busy but that’s the way I like it! As usual things may change – I hurt my back on the weekend so might take it easy on the CrossFit workouts this week.  I’ll see how it goes on a day to day basis.

Let the training begin!

4 thoughts on “Training Tuesday

  1. Sounds like a plan! Good luck on the half mary training! I had knee/ITB issues 2 years ago and went with a lower drop shoe (4mm) I run in the Brooks “Pure Flow” for road and “Pure Grit” on trail and they have kept my knees happy!! Keep us updated on your training and take care of that back too! :o)
    “He who conquers others is strong. He who conquers himself is mighty.” – Lao Tzu

Leave a Reply

