The Comparison Trap

I hate the comparison trap.

We’ve all been there. There’s always that one guy or girl that is that much better than you at what you do, or dresses better, is in better shape, or has more friends. You wonder how they do it, and why you can’t do the same.

I’ve managed to learn to deal with this trap for the most part. I am truly blessed in my life and I don’t take what I have for granted. But the one place I can’t get over comparing myself to others is the gym.

With CrossFit, our scores and times are written on a white board, so everyone can see everyone else’s time. Which is good generally – it creates a healthy sense of competition, even with just yourself, and helps you to push yourself a little bit harder. So on a regular basis, I don’t think twice about my name and scores being written for the rest of the gym to see. Unless I have a bad workout, of course.

I mean I know we can’t be “on” every day, and it’s not like the gym is the be all and end all of existence, but I don’t like “sucking”. I don’t like being last, or slowest, or with the least weight or reps. I’m fine being in the middle of the pack, where I normally am, and when I know I haven’t done my best it bothers me.

I had a shitty workout Monday. I felt like I was going to pass out the entire time so I had to go slower, and stop, and take rests, and ended up with a slow time compared to everyone else.

Ah there it is – compared to everyone else.

I need to remember that my journey is my own, whether in life or in the gym, and comparing myself to others in this way is only to drag me down instead of propel me onwards and upwards.

It’s a hard lesson to learn. But I’m trying.

20120822-142246.jpg

3 thoughts on “The Comparison Trap

  1. ahhhh i totally feel you on that one! right now everyone seems to be getting engaged, married and having babies, i can’t help but compare sometimes. then i remind myself that life is good, i have an amazing boyfriend and it will all happen one day, so no point in comparing… life unfolds differently for everyone. same with the gym, we have our on days and off days! no point comparing, because we run/workout for ourselves, not for anyone else! :)
    ps. you will appreciate my newest post, about the tough mudder hills! lol

  2. Carly, I had the same exact problem on Monday, which I know we talked about on Twitter. We did a 1RM back squat, and I was incredibly disappointed with how I did. But I’d also done 7 workouts the week before, the CrossFit Endurance Trainer cert Saturday and Sunday, which involved a ton of running and drills. Basically, I hadn’t taken a full day off in 9 days and was beating myself up over not PRing by as much as everyone else. It’s so hard sometimes, isn’t it? But yes, your journey is your own. Remember how far you’ve come and how far you know you can go. Love the picture at the bottom of the post :)

  3. NEVER STOP BELIEVING! I tell my run clinic members all the time that just like other aspects of your life, you will have good run days and bad run days. Sometimes those “bad” days happen to be on race day…nothing you can do about it except prepare and make sure that your body and mind are in the best possible prep-shape possible! If you didn’t have bad days…the good days wouldn’t feel so good, now would they?!

Leave a Reply

