Training Thursday

I have been a bad half marathon wannabe.

I did not run last week. At all. I had every intention of running, really I did, but as usual life got in the way.

But I'm back on track (mostly) this week.

Monday: CrossFit

Tuesday: CrossFit

Wednesday: 2.5km run: it started out really well, did the first km in 5:43 which is probably the fastest I've ever run a km before. Then it went downhill – my heart rate was really high and I couldn't catch my breath. I think it has a lot to do with under hydrating and not enough sleep. I'm making a conscious effort to drink more water and I'm even tracking it to make sure I get enough.

Today: CrossFit

 

Friday: 4x400m run, and maybe the gym if I feel up to it

Saturday: 10km long run

Sunday: skills clinic at the gym

I'm going to take my time doing the long run and not stress about time, just get the distance covered. I will definitely do the run/walk method – 10min run to 1min walk.

We did a really fun WOD on Tuesday:

21-15-9 deadlifts (95 for women) with 10 box jumps (20″) after each set. As it was explained to me this workout was about intensity instead of load – the faster the better. I did the first set of 21 deadlifts unbroken but I'm still super slow on the box jumps. The second set I did 10 and 5 deadlifts, and then did the 9 unbroken. I finished in 4:26 and my legs were shaking! It's pretty crazy that you can get a great workout in less than 5 minutes.

I'm looking forward to the weekend and having a few days off. Hope everyone has had a good week so far!

What was your favourite workout this week?

 

One thought on “Training Thursday

Leave a Reply

