Out With The Old

I don’t think I have ever made a New Year’s resolution, at least not within recent memory.  I’ve never been big on the whole New Year’s celebration anyway (except Y2K but that was the end of civilization as we knew it, right?) and the last few years I’ve been working overnights so my “party” has been poking puppies and kittens all night.

This year, instead of resolutions I intend on setting monthly attainable goals that are specific, relevant, measurable and time-bound (the ever popular SMART mnemonic).  I like the idea of breaking down a bigger goal into smaller daily goals.  I’m intimidated by big changes so I figure by making smaller ones I’m more likely to stick with them instead of panicking and refusing to do anything at all.

Besides setting monthly goals, I also want to set an intention for 2014.  More often than not I make or not make decisions based on fear, and after spending most of 2013 being inactive I’ve found it really hard to get back to the same level of activity I’d enjoyed before because I’m afraid.  I’m afraid to start anything new, I’m afraid of hurting, I’m afraid to start all over again.  Newton’s first law of motion at work here, folks.  What I need is a push, a kick, someone throwing me off the back of a moving vehicle in order for me to get moving again.  So in that light, 2014 will be about being fearless.  I want to say yes to more opportunities, to do the things that scare me, and to stop watching life from the sidelines.

Id-rather-regret-the-things-Ive-done-than-regret-the-things-I-havent-done

So other than living life fearlessly, here are my tiny goals for January:

1. Be active for at least 20 minutes every day
2. Eat more veggies – 3 servings a day minimum
3. Stop relying on sugar when working overnights – this means stop buying candy on my way to work
4. Read at least 30 min a day.  Netflix, while amazing, is a time suck.  I have so many books I need to get to – Dawson’s Creek will have to wait.

I think 4 is enough to start out with – this is supposed to be a positive exercise and I know that if I keep adding on I’ll get overwhelmed and give up.  My brain is definitely my worst enemy.

I hope 2013 was good to you, and I hope that 2014 is even better.  Happy New Year :)

4 thoughts on “Out With The Old

Leave a Reply

