My #FindYourStrong Song

 

Have you heard about Saucony’s #FindYourStrong project?

It’s a pretty neat concept – each week there is a different theme or challenge – complete the challenge by sharing a video, a photo, a word, and be entered to win some pretty cool prizes! The current theme is “What is your #FindYourStrong song?”.  And since I rarely (if EVER) run without music, I had to figure out my strong song!

But really, how do you narrow down a collection of thousands of songs down to just one? Well I started with my race playlist (my most recently collection of running music):

image
(Yes I realize it’s fairly random)

They’re all fairly “peppy” songs – upbeat and catchy and really motivate me to keep going.  But I gotta say that of that list, there is really only one song that I need to hear at the finish line, that pushes me to go faster, to #findmystrong – and it’s definitely “Till I Collapse” by Eminem. 

The lyrics make me move, push me harder, make me dig deep so I can finish strong. It’s on every running and CrossFit playlist I make, and while this isn’t normally the kind of music I listen to, it’s definitely the song that gets me going.

“’Cause sometimes you just feel tired,
Feel weak, and when you feel weak, you feel like you wanna just give up.
But you gotta search within you, you gotta find that inner strength
And just pull that s*** out of you and get that motivation to not give up
And not be a quitter, no matter how bad you wanna just fall flat on your face and collapse.”

I imagine that, when I cross the finish line at the Scotiabank Waterfront half marathon in October, that I’ll be listening to this song. I can’t wait!

Interested in the #FindYourStrong project? Check out http://community.saucony.com/findyourstrongproject/ !

004

So tell me, what song helps you #FindYourStrong?

3 thoughts on “My #FindYourStrong Song

  1. I put “Ali in the Jungle” by The Hours near the end of all my race playlists. The lyrics say

    “It’s, not, how you start, it’s how you finish,
    And it’s, not, where you’re from, it’s where you’re at…

    It’s, not, where you are, It’s where you’re going,
    Where are you going?
    And it’s, not, about the things you’ve done, it’s what you’re doing, now,
    What are you doing, now?

    Everybody gets knocked down,
    Everybody gets knocked down,
    How quick are you gonna’ get up?”

    This song was perfect this past Saturday when I was running in a 10k race and feeling sick to my stomach (maybe a TMI but I tossed my cookies at around 8.5k). I kept thinking “finish strong, finish strong…” I was also thinking about finding my strong and about Dorothy Beal’s Find Your Strong video where she kept saying “I run this body”

  2. I love the “Dog Days are Over” by Florence and the Machine. it’s the perfect tempo for my speed and the words get me moving! I love seeing other people’s playlists, too.

Leave a Reply

